Retrospective: Previous #1 Films That I Regret

In preparation of my Top Films of 2015, I normally would have released my Worst Films list beforehand. But this year, I decided to change things up. I’m starting the year-end lists with a list regarding films that I previously put as #1 that year. Sometimes there are films that were great that year, but as time goes on, they either do not hold up well or there is a film that year that I previously did not see that ends up being better than my number #1. Now let’s get started!

2009

Original #1 Film: “The Hurt Locker”

Why The Change of Heart:hurt locker

This was my first top ten I have ever written. And I am not going to lie, I really wasn’t prepared for the debates in my head on which film was going to end up being my #1. And as a result, I ended up putting the great film I recently saw as my top pick. While I enjoyed the film for its realistic military portrayal and its suspenseful action scenes, it doesn’t hold up as well after rewatching it several times. In fact, I think Kathryn Bigelow’s follow-up film “Zero Dark Thirty” does a much better job with the characters, suspense and military portrayal.

What Should Have Been #1: “District 9” (originally #2)

Reason:district 9

I’m sure a lot of you are surprised I didn’t go with a more popular pick like “Avatar” or “Inglourious Basterds”. While both of those are fantastic, “District 9” blows all of these films out of the water. Its brilliantly deep script, beautifully shot action scenes and incredible visual effects that look better and still hold up well compared to “Avatar”. It’s a shame Neill Blomkamp hasn’t come up with something as ingenious as this film was when I first saw it in theaters. This is a one of a kind masterpiece that is worth rewatching.

2010

Original #1 Film: The Social Network”

Why The Change of Heart:

The Social Network

I know a lot of you are angry with me for saying that I regret putting this film as #1, but hear me out. 2010 was a great year for movies and it was so hard to rank these films in a top ten list. This film, “Inception”, and “Toy Story 3” were all top choices of mine that year and they were specifically hard to put in order of favorite. And regrettably, I put the most popular choice as my #1. This is not me saying that I hate the film. “The Social Network” is a brilliant film with an amazing script, great performances, and I think it should have won Best Picture against “The King’s Speech” that year. However, there was a film that year that I enjoyed more…

What Should Have Been #1: “Inception” (originally #2)

Reason:inception

I’m still angry that Christopher Nolan wasn’t nominated for Best Director for this masterpiece. “Inception” is a smart, original and insanely influential film for this generation. There is something new every time you see it and you are still curious about the mysterious ending after all these years. It still holds up well after all these years and Nolan is still daring when it comes to blockbuster entertainment.

2011

Original #1 Film: “Hugo”

Why The Change of Heart: hugo

“Hugo” was a brilliant experience at the theaters. Great 3D combined with an in-depth story about film history for children and adults to enjoy. It was the perfect family film for cinephiles. That is, until I rewatched it on DVD when it was released. “Hugo” is a good film, but unlike the other two #1’s I mentioned above, I’ve grown to like it less over the years. I personally think that the visual effects, the 3D and the subplot about the history of cinema distracted me from the somewhat boring and overdone story of an orphan trying to solve his father’s last mystery. While it thankfully boosted the careers of Chloe Moretz and Asa Butterfield, “Hugo” is a beautiful looking film that ends up being a little forgettable over the years.

What Should Have Been #1: “Drive” (originally #3)

Reason: drive

“Drive” is unlike anything else I’ve seen this decade. Stunning visuals, quiet suspense, and an incredible soundtrack that helps create the twisted, dark world it lives in. This is one of the best performances of Ryan Gosling’s career and he was snubbed for Best Actor. In fact, this film is famous for being snubbed for a lot of awards that year (including a huge rob for Albert Brooks for Best Supporting Actor). Luckily it doesn’t need awards to be remembered, it has time on its side. And man, has it gotten even better over the years.

2012

Original #1 Film: “Argo”

Why The Change of Heart:argo

“Argo” is famous for director Ben Affleck being snubbed for Best Director and the film winning Best Picture even without that nomination. While I enjoyed “Argo” for its humor, suspense and entertainment value, over time I realized that it doesn’t hold up that well. The jokes are less funny after repeat viewing and the tension isn’t as suspenseful as the first time watching it. While it is a great movie and it is a crime that Affleck was snubbed for director, there was a movie that year that held up much better over the years.

What Should Have Been #1: Silver Linings Playbook” (originally #2)

Reason: silver linings playbook

While Ben Affleck wasn’t nominated for Best Director, David O. Russell was and deserved it more than who actually won (Ang Lee). “Silver Linings Playbook” is the absolute perfect film that will lift your spirits. Funny, smart and heartbreaking all at the same time. It bravely tackles how mental illness impacts families and friends and how coping with it can make us all better people. Russell has crafted these wonderful characters who under the wrong hands could have easily been unlikable, but you end up caring for and rooting for them all the way through. This also has become a surprisingly influential film (“Top Five” tackles celebrity status in a similarly tragicomic way) and after constant rewatch, there is always something new to find and it will always make you smile at the end.

2013

Original #1 Film: American Hustle”

Why The Change of Heart:american-hustle

David O. Russell’s follow up to “Silver Linings Playbook” is a groundbreaking addition to the historical fiction genre. It takes an already interesting true story and creates a fun scenario out of it that leads to the outcome of the main event. After constant rewatch, I still enjoy this film and will defend it to naysayers who said it was too predictable and boring for them. For me, it was funny, had great twists and had unlikable characters that you ended up rooting for. You all must be wondering why that I regret putting this as #1. Well, I didn’t see the film that would have been my #1 until months after release. If I saw both of these in the same time frame, “American Hustle” would have been #2 on my list.

What Should Have Been #1: Her” (no original placement)

Reason: her

As I mentioned above, I didn’t get to see this until months after my top ten came out. If there was any film that perfectly described our generation, this would be it. “Her” is not only a beautiful and heartbreaking romance film, but also a timely film that shows a realistic future of what our social media savvy generation could see in the next few years. Spike Jonze has crafted a marvelous film here and one I look back on every so often in wonder and awe. I fully regret not seeing it right away because this is a timeless and perfect film. One that should not be missed.

Hope you all enjoyed my retrospective. Feel free to comment and discuss your opinions on any of these with me. Keep a look out for my Worst Films of 2015 and Top Films of 2015 lists throughout the next couple of days!

Leave a comment